The MPA database started out as a project to document the management of marine protected areas in the Visayas region. Its main activity was to document and record the management status of local and nationally managed MPAs. A rating system was utilized by CCEF so that MPA management committees are guided in improving the management of these sites. With a recent funding from the UNICO Conservation Foundation, the important work of supporting hundreds of MPAs scattered mainly in Visayas is continued.

MPA Listing

Title Established Area Barangay LGU Province
Balingasay Marine Sanctuary 1999 14.7 Balingasay Bolinao Pangasinan
Bacungan Fish Sanctuary 2002 20.0 Bacungan Pagbilao Quezon
Ambao Fish Sanctuary and Reserve Area 2000 32.5 Ambao Hinundayan Southern Leyte
Bagonbanua Marine Reserve and Sanctuary 1992 28.3 Bagonbanua Guiuan Samar
Banban-Luyang Marine Sanctuary 2006 10.0 Banban Siquijor Siquijor
Alabel Fish Sanctuary 2001 15.0 Alabel Malapatan Sarangani
Bacon Marine Reserve 1999 48.0 Bacon Sorsogon City Sorsogon
Ayoke Marine Protected Area 2005 42.0 Ayoke Island Cantilan Surigao del Sur
Adlay Marine Protected Area 2006 84.0 Adlay Carrascal Surigao del Sur
Balibadon Fish Sanctuary 2003 24.8 Balibadon Cortes Surigao del Sur
Agoo-Damortis Protected Landscape and Seascape 2000 10648.0 Ago-o La Union
Bani Marine Protected Area 2006 50.0 Bani Masinloc Zambales
Aliguay Island Protected Landscape and Seascape 2003 2379.4 Aliguay Island Dapitan City Zamboanga del Norte
Banbanan Marine Reserve 2003 12.4 Banbanan Dapitan City Zamboanga del Norte
Bangaan Marine Sanctuary 2005 880.0 Bangaan Tungawan Zamboanga Sibugay
Bacawayan Marine Protected Area 2005 20.0 Bacawayan Dimataling Zamboanga del Sur
Bag- ong Silao MPA 2003 22.0 Dumalinao Zamboanga del Sur
Barangay Combo Marine Sanctuary 2006 22.0 Combo Labangan Zamboanga del Sur


Number of MPAs in the database: 93