The MPA database started out as a project to document the management of marine protected areas in the Visayas region. Its main activity was to document and record the management status of local and nationally managed MPAs. A rating system was utilized by CCEF so that MPA management committees are guided in improving the management of these sites. With a recent funding from the UNICO Conservation Foundation, the important work of supporting hundreds of MPAs scattered mainly in Visayas is continued.

MPA Listing

Title Established Area Barangay LGUsort descending Province
Agoo-Damortis Protected Landscape and Seascape 2000 10648.0 Ago-o La Union
Alburquerque-Loay-Loboc Protected Landscape and Seascape 2000 1164.0 Alburquergue Bohol
Badiang Fish Sanctuary 2003 70.1 Badiang Anda Bohol
Barangay Suba Marine Sanctuary 2004 19.9 Suba Anda Bohol
Anibong Marine Reserve 2002 7.1 Anibong Ayungon Negros Oriental
Awaan Marine Reserve 2002 15.5 Awaan Ayungon Negros Oriental
Bato Seagrass and Fish Sanctuary 2003 25.0 Bato Badian Cebu
Ban-ao Marine Protected Area 2007 10.0 Ban-ao Baganga Davao Oriental
Baliangao Protected Landscape and Seascape 2000 74.0 Baliangao Misamis Occidental
Baod Marine Sanctuary 2002 20.5 Baod Bantayan Cebu
Bantayan Integrated Marine Park and Sanctuary 1996 345.0 Bantayan Cebu
Atop-Atop and Tamiao Marine Sanctuary 1996 75.0 Bantayan Cebu
Bantigue Marine Sanctuary 1999 10.0 Bantigue Bantayan Cebu
Barili Marine Sanctuary 2001 15.9 Barili Cebu
Balingasay Marine Sanctuary 1999 14.7 Balingasay Bolinao Pangasinan
Arnedo Marine Sanctuary 1999 8.2 Arnedo Bolinao Pangasinan
Arbor Marine Sanctuary 2001 8.9 Arbor Boljoon Cebu
Asinan Reef Fish Sanctuary 2002 50.0 Asinan Reef Buenavista Bohol
Balatasan Fish Sanctuary 1999 300.0 Balatasan Bulalacao Mindoro Oriental
Cawili Marine Reserve 2003 35.7 Cawili Cagayancillo Palawan
Nusa Marine Reserve 2003 19.3 Nusa Cagayancillo Palawan
Balabag Marine Reserve 2003 15.3 Balabag Cagayancillo Palawan
Tubbataha Reef National Marine Park 1988 33200.0 Tubbataha Reef Cagayancillo Palawan
Talaga Marine Reserve 2003 16.5 Talaga Cagayancillo Palawan
Ayoke Marine Protected Area 2005 42.0 Ayoke Island Cantilan Surigao del Sur


Number of MPAs in the database: 93